Home > Fitness > Day 1 Crossfit

Day 1 Crossfit

My muscles are sore!  Yesterdays work out was awesome! It was surprisingly short, but KICKED OUR BUTTS. Dave has not worked out for over a month and the workout nearly killed him, poor guy. His lungs were burning!  Mine were too, but since I have been working out consistently it wasn’t as brutal for me. He did finish a lot quicker than me and was lifting a lot more weights, but I think his gap in exercise contributed to his lungs being on fire.

Here’s what we did: I listed the weight we used for each exercise to the side. Mine is the first dave’s is the second.

15 Dead Lifts      (45lbs/115lbs)
15 Wall balls      (14lbs/20lbs)
15 Burpees   (body weight)
15 Dips         (I used the assited pull up dip machine and added 12lbs on for support)

Repeated 3 times. The goal is to rest as little as possible between sets.

Sounds like it would be a piece of cake right?  Wrong.  Alone any of these exercises would be pretty easy, but when you put them all together with little to no rest after each set, it is  REDICULOUSLY hard.  It took a good 5-10 minutes to bring my heart rate down enough to add on some sit ups at the end, and by the time we walked out to the car, both of our thighs were already sore! Ha….too funny! The workout only latest about 20 minutes so it was really short but super intense. Todays workout will last a bit longer and looks really hard..i’m excited! 

It doesn’t look like anyone is interested in joining us on our 30 day Crossfit challenge, but thats ok…if you don’t want to do it, you can still read about what we are doing here.

I don’t know what it is about a butt kicking workout but it makes me feel like a million dollars. I feel so strong and proud.  I feel like I can accomplish anything. I love how working out gives me a positive attitute and the confidence to achive big things.

Before I started my change to a  “healthy lifestyle” I truly thought exercise was just a stepping stone that helped me lose weight, period dot. I never thought it was more than that. I never imagined i’d be someone who worked out on a daily basis and NEVER though i’d ever love it. Now I can’t imagine not doing it. Happy day. :)

We came home after the work out and had a yummy dinner.  Whole wheat angel hair pasta with Morning Star Grillers Crumbels and yummy spaghetti sauce.  After dinner I had a sweet tooth like normal and I wasn’t sure what to eat. I usually go for some peanut butter or rice pudding, but since were not eating sugar I opted for some fresh peaches. Even though I love fruit, it was not what I was craving. But what do you know….they were delish. I was just as satisfied with a bowl of peaches as I would have been with something full of sugar.
Fancy that. :)

I meant to upload some pictures last night from our trip to Illinois so I could give an update from the weekend, but I forgot. I’ll try and get to it tonight.

Have a wonderful day!

Categories: Fitness
  1. megzzwinsatlife
    September 23, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Great job on choosing the peaches!!! That workout seems tough.. I would be sore too!

  2. Trevor & Erin Keyes
    September 23, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Will you tell the weight you and Dave use for each exercise? I do a boot camp class that is very similar to this but we use less weight because we go for an hour. We start at 15 reps and increase reps by 5 until we get to 110 reps. Each increment is a different exercise. Does that make sense? Anyway…can’t walk today because of it! But I would like to add the crossfit challenge on the days I have time.

    • September 23, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      wo! 110 reps thats crazy! I bet you are sore! For sure. I’ll go and update the weight on my post, thanks for the idea!

      I used a 45lb bar for the dead lifts (but next time i’d use more)
      I used the assisted dip machine and added 12lbs on to help support me
      I used a 14lb ball for the wall balls

      Dave had 115lb on the bar for his dead lifts
      Dave did dips without assistance
      Dave used a 20lb ball for the wall balls

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

