Day 2 Crossfit

crossfit workout 2

Missed Day 1 Crossfit?

WEEEEEEEEW eee! Even more sore today than I was yesterday. I kinda like it though is that wierd? Yesterdays workout was harder than the day before. I’m feeling sore all over today, not sure why because we didn’t do a full body workout. 

I was kinda having a blah day yesterday. I was SUPER tired, and had a head ache for most of the day.  When I got home I was not in the mood to go work out but I knew i’d feel better after.  Sure enough after the workout I felt awesome.  Sure I was sopping wet and my muscles began to tighten, but I felt awesome!  Here is what we did…

800M run (.50 miles)
Nat: Avrg speed 6.2 Dave Avg Speed: 6.9
25 KTE (Knees touch elbows)
15 Box jumps

Repeat 4 times!

Wow. This was not easy.  The runs weren’t too bad the first time through but after the second and third we were both fighting for air.  The KTE’s were killer.  It takes every muscle in your body to pull your knees up to touch your elbows, and when your done doing that, jumping up and down onto the box tops it all off!

We were sweating like crazy. We didn’t finish with abs because the KTE’s were enough for us.  We stretched and talked about the workout and let our heart rates recover a bit before heading home.

When we got in the car these were dave exact words..”I really like these workouts, they aren’t too long and are super intense. I want to die while i’m doing it but I feel awesome after.”

I’m so glad he likes it…because I love it. And I love doing it together.  When I was with my trainer I wasn’t able to slack or take too much time to rest, and it feels the same with Dave. I want to keep up with him and finish in good time so I know i’m pushing myself harder than I would if I was on my own and I really like that!

Day 2 was great.  We are taking a rest day today and again on Sunday.  When we start back up on Monday I think we will take rest days on Fridays and Sundays. Dave’s muscles are really sore and since he is usually in such great shape working out every day he isnt used to feeling sore. Me on the other hand, it seems like every time I met with my trainer I was in for some pain the next day.  I have so many muscles that aren’t developed that its easier for me to get sore than him, but since he hadn’t worked out in over a month, he is feeling it big time! I’m feeling it too, but I’m kinda used to it. :)   

We took our measurements yesterday. After we were finished dave looked at the numbers and said…”hey our measurements are about the same”…..some of yours are bigger.  I immediately looked at him and said…”uh why would you want to point that out……” he looked at me with a worried look on his face and said…”i dont know”. ha ha ha it was funny. I laughed and told him I was kidding! I didn’t care. Hello I am 5’5 and he is 6’4. Yes some of our measurements were similar, but i’m not going to even entertain the thought of letting that bother me. It doesn’t make sense. (plus he is lean and has long lean legs so it’s not like it’s a bad thing).

The truth is though, in the past that might have made me feel bad and feel self concise or insecure. I might have gotten a little bugged at him for pointing that out.  I used to be so touchy and worried about anything he or anyone else would say about me and my body. I would ask him a question and if i didn’t get what I thought was the right response I automatically made myself feel bad. I constantly thought he thought things about me that I now know are not true.  The truth is….. He thinks I’m beautiful.He thinks I skinny He loves me the way I am.  And he’s thought it all along. I just never believed it until now.  Want to know why? Because I didn’t think it about myself.  Until I started to focus on positive good uplifting thoughts and work on giving myself complements, I couldn’t believe that he or anyone else may actually be telling the truth. 

Unfortunately as women I think we all do this to a certain extent! We are WAY to critical of ourself.  Our poor husbands or BF’s end up having to walk around on egg shells because they are worried that they might not say the right thing.  Can they read our minds…NO! So why should we expect them to? Next time your husband boyfriend or whoever gives you a compliment or tells you something positive about yourself, instead or asking them if they mean it or analyzing how they said it to try and figure out what they really meant….just BELIEVE it. You are beautiful, and you deserve to believe it!

QA:
 Do you have a hard time believing compliments about yourself?

  

 

  1. September 24, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I definitely do have a hard time believing them… I’ve come such a long way, but my disbelief in my self proves that I still have a long way to go. I don’t hear them enough for them to be ‘common” so I figure that when there is a compliment, it isn’t sincere. And if I don’t hear enough then I assume something is wrong with me.
    I wish there was an easy fix for this!!! love the blog!

    • September 24, 2009 at 9:52 am

      I know what you’re saying. It seems like they are easier to believe if they are given all the time right? Try giving them to yourself. Out loud, in your head, on a paper. I know it might sound funny…but it’s true, the more you hear them the more you believe them, even if they are from yourself. I seriously did and do this and it helps so much!! :)

  2. Menden @ Skinny Menny
    September 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Wow, that workout sounds tough!! It’s great that you have a partner to do the crossfit with you, though…I think I always push a little harder when I work out with my boyfriend!

    I’m definitely not good at taking compliments. I always say “you’re crazy!” when my boyfriend compliments me…not very nice of me, huh? But I always think of myself as the geeky, awkward, skinny kid I used to be. Guess I’ll always be that girl in my mind!

  3. September 24, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for the comment girl! It’s definitely easy to be critical of yourself, but it’s just not worth it! We gotta love what we’re working with, since everyone else usually is….but we’re just too involved in ourselves to believe it!!!

  4. Margaret
    September 24, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I laughed out loud that you asked Dave why he would point that out. That is something Austin would do, not being rude of course, but just pointing it out not knowing why like Dave did.
    I agree that women are too hard on themselves. When Austin compliments me I brush it off and it drives him crazy! Then it creates this cycle of him complimenting me, me brushing it off somehow, him not knowing how to compliment me then and me wondering what he is thinking. I don’t know why I do it. I don’t know if that makes sense. I think we are our own worst enemy.

    • September 24, 2009 at 5:13 pm

      ha ha that is funny! I let dave read your comment and he laughed too! I agree…i think we are our own worst enemy. :) It’s good to put ourself in check sometimes! Are you guys coming down here for christmas?

  5. September 24, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I just love how uplifting you are in your posts! Wow, sounds like an AMAZING workout. You are so right that we DESERVE to receive each and every compliment someone gives us. It’s important not to expect them, but there’s no reason not to feel good and believe the compliments! :)

    xxoo
    Heather

    • September 24, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment! That work outs are awesome I really love them!!

  6. September 24, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Can’t wait to read more of yours. Yeah, I sometimes have trouble believing compliments but I try to embrace all of them! Natalie, I went from Blogger.com to self hosting. I went through GoDaddy.com and used their wordpress template. Then Blog Fairy designed by header, Emily is awesome to work with!!

    • September 24, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      Awesome! thanks so much for your help! :)

  7. Margaret
    September 24, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Yes Natalie, we are planning on being down for Christmas…just need to get our tickets still. We will have to get together then.

  1. September 24, 2009 at 9:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

