Home > The Power of Positive Thinking > How much do you weigh?

How much do you weigh?

p_791444

It must have been the devil who whispered that number in my ear that will forever be known as my “goal weight”, “perfect weight”, or whatever else you want to call it.  You know the one i’m talking about.  The weight you have always dreamed of being.  The number on the scale that you long to reach one day. The number you deem as “perfect”. My STUPID  number has been “the” number for so long i’m not even sure why or when I came up with it. I don’t know how I decided on that specific number or why I am was convinced that when I weighed that number it meant happiness.

120……What a stupid number.  I hope I never see it again.  Well maybe that’s not entierly true, but to be honest I really don’t care if I ever see it again. Want to know why?  Because it is a number. A NUMBER.  It is NOT ME.  I am not that number.  It took me over 10 years to figure out that weighing 120lbs does not define who I am.  It does not determine my happiness. “HELLO Natalie WAKE UP!! Until I started to open up my ears,eyes and my mind I didn’t get the call.

My sister in law (who should be referenced more in this blog due to her countless advice over the years) gave me some advice a while back that I FINALLY ended up taking (but not without learning the hard way). The advice she gave me was not to weigh myself, and if I was going to do so, don’t do it often. I used to weigh myself every other day…and once I realized that wasn’t a good idea I limited it to once a week. Once a week seemed reasonable, it wasn’t everyday and it would help track my weight loss (or gain..eek!).  The only problem was when weigh day came, if I did not see the exact results I was looking for, I immediately got discouraged and made myself feel awful. When I started making healthy changes in my life, I decided that I would wait six weeks between weighing myself. I was sure this was a great idea!

One of my inital goals was to participate in a moderate exercise program. I started by lifting weights and incorporating cardio into my daily routine. After a few weeks my body started to change, my clothes fit better, I felt better and I knew my physical routine was getting my body in better shape. I was still quite fixated on how much I weighed or how much i’d lost. I counted down every day to the six week mark. When six weeks were up I weighed myself.  The number I had anticipated did not appear on the scale. Immediately my feelings of success, achievement and excitement went down the drain.  Minutes before weighing myself I had felt great, I was positive, excited, feeling on top of the world. Immediately after I got off the stupid scale my attitude changed.  I didn’t feel great, I didnt think I looked great, and I started doing what i’d always done.  I began thinking negatively.

 I soon after consulted with my psychiatristt aka husband (he’s not really a  psychiatrist but it feels that way sometimes). He gave me a much needed kick in the butt.  I told him how I was so upset at how much I weighed and that all my hard work was not producing any results and bla bla bla…I whined like a baby. Unlike other times in the past where he had consoled me and tried to comfort my concerns, he stopped me mid sentence and sternly said…”STOP IT NATALIE”.  He continued very sternly telling me that I was being absolutely ridiculous.  He reminded me that for the past six weeks I had been so happy and positive. I had been making incredible progress both mentally and physically. He told met if I was going to let the number on the scale dictate my attitude and progress that I might as well give up on the idea of change right now.  As much as I wanted to be hurt that he was basically calling me a baby and telling me to quit feeling sorry for myself…I knew he was right.  Why did it matter that I didn’t weigh exactly what I wanted. Was I seeing positive resluts…yes! Was I feeling better about my body…yes! Was I making healthy choices in my life…yes! Was I making positive changes…yes!  Why should I care how much I weigh? 

Answer:  I SHOULDN”T. 

Thankfully my view on my weight has changed significantly since then!  I can’t say that if I gained a lot of weight I wouldn’t be bothered, or that I wouldn’t like to lose a little, but I can say i’ve made a serious committment to myself.  Here it is…I will never let my weight aka that silly number on the scale have anything to do with how I view myself or my body.  My focus is on making myself  the best I can be….from the inside out.  No number on a scale can tell me who I am or how to feel about myself….I’m in control. (take that ya stupid scale!) 🙂

When I made that committment I also decided that for me it is better if I don’t weigh myself. So i’ve stopped doing so. I have found different techniques that help me track my physical progress without weighing myself or focusing on weight loss….

  • I started taking my measurements every few months
  • I’ve started fun training progrms (ie. crossfit, shred, PX90) and take before and after pictures afterwards
  • I’ve set strength goals (ie. I want to be able to do a pull up in the next month) …i’m so close!
  • I’ve set endurance goals (ie. I want to run a 10k by the end of the year, if my back will allow)

How often do we let how much we weigh dictate the way we think and feel about ourself? I’m afraid it’s much too often. It’s not about the number on the scale or reaching your “perfect weight”, it’s about living a healthy, happy and productive life.  Whether you weigh 20lbs, 120lbs, or 220lbs you are more than that number.  You are not defined by how much you weigh or what your body looks like. You are defined by the thoughts, choices and actions you make on a daily basis.  Your thoughts will eventually turn into your choices and your choices will create actions.  What are you thinking about?  Whatever your thoughts may be, do you focus those thoughts and your energy on the negative? Or do you practice positive thinking and give yourself the love and appreciation you deserve?

How much do you weigh? Do you know? Do you care?  I really don’t know how much I weigh…and I really don’t care. What I do know is how I feel and that I am making healthy positive choices everyday. I also know that if I can do it…so can you. Try eliminating the things in your life that let you entertain negative thoughts. You will be surprised at how much power have. Take the wheel…you are in control.

Questions:

  • Do you have a “perfect weight” Or a number that you have always been trying to reach or stay at, and have you ever stopped and thought about where you came up with that number and if it is realistic?
  • How do you measure personal success?

I love comments 🙂

  1. September 16, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I don’t weigh my self. In fact, I don’t even own a scale. I go by how my clothes fit, and how much definition I have in my muscles. When I start feeling sluggish or notice a little less definition in my muscles, I take a look at my workout schedule and what I have been eating. I measure my personal success by how fast I can run, swim, or bike! It has nothing to do with my body image anymore, thank goodness!

    • September 16, 2009 at 12:52 pm

      That is so great! That is what I have been trying to do, and its such a relief! I think I might take your advice and get rid of my scale for good! I’m not using it so why no throw it out or give it away!! Thanks for the comment!

  2. littlemissminny
    September 16, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    I had that ideal number. And I think when I got there, I wanted lower. I knew that was gonna happen, that I’ll never be satisfied. I am working on realizing that it’s just a stupid number.

    • September 17, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      Thats so great! Keep telling yourself that the number does not matter…because IT DOESNT!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Trevor & Erin Keyes
    September 16, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    This is a great post! Especially because I was finally given credit for all of my great wisdom!!! Ha ha ha. (1/2 joking).
    I do use a scale every now and again, but not to see if I am my same weight that my driver’s license divulges…I find it humorous when the number comes on the screen. The scales lie all the time! They don’t know if I am retaining water, gained or lost muscle /fat.
    My body is “fine-tuned” machine. It tells me what I need. Ex: I did not go to the gym for the last week and a half. I felt horrible and needing the stress relief. (I should have just done it at home but I really love my group fitness classes ya know). Anyway, I thought it would be funny if I still lost weight when I stopped working out, that is usually what my body does. And yep I had lost many lbs. But, that is never my goal so that is why it is humorous! I weigh less and feel worse…that is not ok.
    I have it pretty good as far as maintaining a so called “goal weight” because I have been weight training for so long. However, there is always a number that seems “unacceptable” to me but I have realized that feeling great in my clothes and in my attitude is my fitness goal. I know that being active, doing weight training combined with cardio, for life, is ‘my body’s’ best bet at getting results.
    I love this blog. Please know I don’t think I am perfect in exercise or anything else. I love this topic and you know I could go on for hours! It is fascinating how everyone is so different mentally and physically when dealing with fitness. Thanks.

    • September 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      ha ha you deserve credit! You are totally right. The scale has no idea what the heck are bodies are up to…its a stupid piece of equiptment. I don’t think you think your perfect…but you are definetly on the track i’m working to get on! I’m glad you like the blog….thats nice. I really like it to…its been fun to write about my thoughts and disuss it with people other than dave..ha 🙂 i’m sure he is loving it too! anyhow, thanks for the comments, it makes it fun when I get a response. oh ps..do you want to do the 30 day shred? i almost bought it today and was going to get you one too if you want to do it..its cheap. let me know and i’ll order them. 🙂 love ya

  4. September 16, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Wow, this was exactly what I needed to read today. I just stumbled upon your blog and am definitely going to read regularly. I can relate on a lot of levels and I appreciate your honesty and willingness to share! Thank you!

    • September 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      I’m so glad you stopped by. Your comment put a huge smile on my face. I’m just getting started blogging and i’m never quite sure what people think when they read, so thanks for the support! nat

  5. Trevor & Erin Keyes
    September 16, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Oh my gosh I am a little embarrassed that I am commenting again after such a long comment.
    But I will take your challenge and say ironically enough I weigh 120. And next week I could weigh 125. I go back and forth depending on what I do. And guess what? We are the same size!
    At weak times feel fat and my “silly little number” is, at times, lower than that. Mostly I am realistic and know I am 30 years old, 5’6″, have 2 kids, I am healthy, and have a desire to stay fit the rest of my life. Love.

    • September 16, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      You’re funny! I love that you commented again. It is so much more fun to hear what other people have to say..because i already know what i think!! did you get my email about the 30 day shred?

  6. Toni
    September 16, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    I actually don’t even own a scale and never have! On purpose, so I have no idea how much I weight, the last time I knew was my 6 week check up after having #2, 20 months ago! And the next time will be my first appointment with #3. I like it that way 🙂 I measure myself based on how I feel. I have trained for a lot of races this summer so it hasn’t been an issue but as the cold weather creeps in and the days become short and dark I am TERRIFIED of what it will do to my workouts and the jeans fitting, I am not going to lie.

    By the way I went to dinner with Mindy last night and she WENT ON AND ON about crossfit, I am so going to have to sign on to that. It really helped that she looked totally ripped.

    One of the best things that happened to my self perception was having kids. Now that I have them I don’t have time to obsess about myself one bit! I HAVE to be healthy and energetic all the time to be the best parent I can. Kids took the focus off of myself and put it somewhere else and the benefit is smaller jeans. Workouts are just as much for personal time and stress relief as they are weight management now.

    Loving the blog Nat! I am always around my thin friends who seem to care less about their weights and I know they do, just like I do! I love the bluntness and honesty! It’s not a sign of weakness or insecurity if we care about how we look and what size we are. We should be able to be honest to make each other feel good and be motivated.

    • September 17, 2009 at 7:40 am

      Your so awesome! Thanks for explaining your perspective…Weird enough, besides my sisters you are the only one of my friends from my other blog to comment on this blog. All of the other peopel who are interactive on this blog are readers that just randomly came across my blog. Its kinda weird, they all commented so much on my old blog but maybe they think this one is weird, jk ha ha who knows 🙂 anyhow, thanks for being interactive and sharing your thoughts. I seriously love to learn about how other people do what they do and what motivates them, it motivates me to want to be better and realize what is possible. I’m getting closer and closer to being ready to have kids but i’m not quite there yet…i think dave and i need a little more time. I can totally see what you mean about taking the focus off yourself and putting it all on them, that is so great! thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. traveleatlove
    September 16, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I don’t think about numbers or the scale. I don’t look if I go to the doctor’s, and other than that I never ever weigh myself. As long as my clothes fit and I feel good, that’s enough for me!

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:25 pm

      That’s so great!! Good for you! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for your comment! I love to learn about other people and their norm!

  8. September 16, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I really don’t care about the NUMBER – I just care how I look and feel in my clothes, ya know?

    I have a scale, weigh myself from time to time but more just so I know, rather than because I am worried about what if I am this weight vs. this weight. Its all about the feeling for me.

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm

      I’m beginning to learn how to judge myself based on feelings and accomplishments now and its great! Thanks for your comment…I agree feeling good is much better than worrying about how much you weigh!

  9. September 16, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    This is so true! I don’t weigh myself more than once a month. It’s hard to learn to accept that the perfect weight for our bodies might not be the perfect number that’s stuck in our heads!

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm

      Amen to that! 🙂

  10. Menden (Skinny Menny)
    September 16, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    You rock, Natalie! I can really relate to what you say here…it’s so easy to get stuck on a number. For me, I’ve put on a lot more muscle than I’ve ever had before, and even though my clothing size hasn’t changed, my weight DEFINITELY has…it’s kind of scary, ya know? But I really appreciate this post…you have such a realistic and empowering point of view on this subject 🙂

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:29 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I can totally relate, since I had never lifted weights before after a short time I put on some weight in muscle and it was hard for me to accept a higher number on the scale even though my body was looking better and my clothes were fitting looser. 🙂 Silly me.

  11. Mia {runs and rests}
    September 17, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Hi Natalie! I used to weigh myself everyday right after I wake up. I cringe whenever I see the calendar where I logged my daily weight. A single pound loss/gain would affect my mood all day. Silly me for letting the number on the scale mess with my head. After a couple months of the daily weighing, I somehow decided to step on the scale weekly. Now, it’s been months since I checked my weight and there really is no need to do so as my 4-year old jeans still fit the same way they did before.

    The only reason I haven’t thrown my scale yet is because I use it to check if my luggage is within airline weight limit. 😀

    Love your attitude and I’m happy to have found your blog today! 😀

    • September 17, 2009 at 7:42 am

      ha ha…that is so funny! I just used my scale to weigh my luggage last night! Way to go on kicking the habit…it feels much better right! Thanks for stoping by…i’ll look forward to checking out your blog!

  12. Margaret
    September 17, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Hey Natalie, a little late to this post, but I think I’m kinda like your friend Toni. I don’t remember if we ever had a scale in my home growing up, obviously if we did, I didn’t use it. So Austin and I have never had one, I’ve never even thought about having one. The only time I am weighed is during doctor trips when I’m pregnant and at my 6 week check-up post kids. And I love it that way. I just try to my in tune with my body…I can tell if I’ve eaten too much junk food, or if my clothes are not fitting like I’d like. My goal after pregnancy is to just get back into my pants and I have no clue what the weight is.
    I’ve always figured that my weight probably fluctuates between five pounds depending on whats going on in my life and the time of year ( I seem to eat more around the holidays of course.) But I just do what makes me feel good, while doing my best to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

    • September 17, 2009 at 8:37 am

      Hey! Thanks for the comments, on both blogs! I wish we didn’t have a scale in my house growing up….but at least I’ll be sure its that in the future! I’m trying to be in tune with my body and pay attention to my clothes…prob sounds weird to you since you never weighed yourself but its a whole new world for me…and i really like it better this way! :)… thanks sharing, it gives me some good ideas and motivation!

  13. megzzwinsatlife
    September 17, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Great post!!! I was a member of weight watchers and lost ten pounds and recently left beause I realized I became so infactuated with the number.. The morning of the weight in I woulnd’t eat. I just wanted that number to be lower. Althought weight watchers is a great plan I have realized that there is no goal weight for me.. I want my feel good weight not my goal weight.. Yeah I lost 10 pounds great! But I am keeping it off and possibly losing more by eating a healthy balanced diet and my body will let me know what my feel great weight is 🙂

    • September 17, 2009 at 9:40 am

      I did weight watchers once too. I think the program is good, but I totally agree, the weight is so important and celebrated…so it easy to make it about the weight. Congrats on your success!

  14. September 17, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    thanks for this post! i am totally a weigh myself everyday person and i defintely need to change that. it is not about the number but how you feel about yourself. thanks for the inspiration! i look forward to reading more of your posts. and by the way, you have always looked great!!

    • September 17, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Hey there! I’m glad the post gave you something to think about! Did your mom tell you we ran into each other. What a small world. Rachel used to be my visiting teaching companion! 🙂

      • September 23, 2009 at 3:56 pm

        yeah she did tell me that! that is so funny you and rachel were vt companions. what a small world huh? do you like living down there? we are trying to decide where we would like to move next and it seems like a really nice area.

  15. stefe1202
    September 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog and love this post. I am on a journey myself and feeling great, but know as soon as I step on the scale I am not going to be happy. Thank you for your story and instead of weighing myself I am going to continue calculating with the measurements I have taken instead.

    • September 17, 2009 at 1:14 pm

      I’m so glad to hear that! If are worrying about what the scale will read, don’t get on the scale. Pay attention to how you feel and the way your clothes look. Continue to take your measurements, but give your body time to adjust and change. I am/was always too quick to want to see results. If your change is a life long change, then it may take a LONG time to get there… be ok with that! Thanks for stopping by!!

  16. Sister Jacky
    September 17, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I totally have a ‘number’. When I really think about it, it is what I weighed in high school and I would have to be consentration camp skinny to ever get there again! So I don’t know why I do that! I really need to stop weighing myself because I do the exact same thing ie: feel good and think I look skinnier and then weigh myself and become dissapointed! Your posts sound like a profesional writer! You are awesome!

    • September 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

      Kick that number to the curb. It’s true we are not 16 anymore! hello! GUESS WHAT!! Dave wants to do cross fit with me! yay…we are going to start next week when we get back. I thought i’d do a post about it or something, maybe track what we do each day..fun…and take our measurements?? you guys should do it with (the measurements thing…we can make a fun post about it…??) think about it. thanks for the nice comments…YOU ARE AWESOME

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

